A home remedy, a recipe and a cleaner

So earlier in the week I started feeling rather yucky, sinuses, sore throat, headache, body ache, etc. it was more than just allergies, but not enough to be diagnosed as a cold either. I’m not one to pop a bunch of pills, so I made up a very nice “tea” that I drank probably 3-4 times a day for two days, and here I am on day four, almost 100% better. My tea is far from spectacular, but since it helped, I wanted to share.

1 cup boiling water
1 1/2 tbsp. local honey (organic and raw are bonus options, but local is a must)
1 tsp. cinnamon
1-2 tsp. Black pepper (I’m guesstimating, as I just gave a few good shakes of the pepper shaker.)

Two lemon slices, or about 1 tbsp. Lemon juice
2-4 drops of clove oil (it’s an essential oil with many great properties and uses, one of which, is for numbing– goodbye sore throat!)

Mix everything together in a mug/teacup and drink while warm, or as hot as you can manage it without scalding yourself.

That’s it! 🙂

I will also say that I had a ridiculous craving for boiled cabbage. Upon review, I discovered that cabbage is loaded with vitamin C! Even more so than oranges. Funny how the body gets you to give it what it needs, isn’t it?

Now for the toddler recipe- I have several that I will share, but this is one of my favorites. Mostly because of the shock value, but also because I love making really yummy things that are actually good for you, and thereby good for your wee ones as well. I really enjoy this recipe because I actually tricked a friend into eating it once. Her reaction when I told her what it was, “that’s disgusting! …….But it’s good”…..ahhh, success! I first came across the recipe here
I’ve tweaked it a little, but by all means, I want to give credit to the awesome edible harmony site!

Beneficial Chocolate Pudding/icing

1 avocado, halved, pitted and scooped
2 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
4 dates
1 tbsp. honey
2 tsp vanilla
Dash of salt
If you want to use it as frosting, add 1 tbsp coconut oil

Toss everything into a food processor or blender and pulse until mixed well, then let it mix on high about 2 minutes. You want to make sure the dates are thoroughly pulverized. Store leftovers covered in the refrigerator. You can also freeze and make yummy pudding pops, but make them small, since they melt kind of fast.

Lastly, I want to share my absolutely favorite site for homemade cleaners. Namely my everyday counter/all purpose cleaner. Natures Nurture
This was my first resource when I originally went “green” and I tell as many people that I can about her, so why not spread the love in the World Wide Web, right?

Anyway, that’s all for today, enjoy your weekend! (Mine includes laundry, shopping, and general housework, how about yours?)

I’ll add some pretty pictures later, but I think everything is fairly simple, so pictures will just be a bonus.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Edible Harmony
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 14:54:24

    Thank you for crediting and linking back to my site. I will have to try that remedy sometime

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Holistic Solutions

Holistic Solutions - All Natural - Made in USA in an FDA approved facility and under strict GMP standards. Pure ingredients with no binders or fillers.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

cosymakes

knit. spin. dye. design. teach.

Our Magical Chaos

Life Lessons from Raising Three Amazing Kids

about ss

scott sappenfield

Kialtho Does Blogging

Knitting, Books and maybe a little adventure

Healthy Balanced Future

Better living through nature

The Bliss Project

Trying new things, living out loud and being amazing!

Deconstruction Crafts

Unpacking what's so to see what's possible

From The Four Winds

organic living, photography, spiritual wellness & more

Natural News Tracker

World Health News Headquarters

stoneFOXfeather

live. love. create.

Ready or Not, Flo Hits the Road

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly of 2 months on 2 wheels across America

tamarasha.fitness

Calm Spirit within Hardcore Form

