I can’t believe I made it! (Or, I can’t believe I’m a cliche)

First of all, before about 5 minutes ago, I had absolutely no idea how to blog, so I’m surprised I have managed thus far without incident. Second of all, if you are reading this, can I just say wow, I’m honored, and thank you. I’m a 30-something stay at home mom of the most beautiful and charming 9 month old in my neighborhood (and yes, she’s the ONLY 9 month old in the neighborhood, I’m not lost in outerspace here, I think my kid is amazing and everything, but I know that no one will ever think as highly of her as I do…..that’s what being a mom is all about, after all). Hrmm, well, I have two cats, Meeko and Puchak (pronounced Pooh-chuk….hey, I was young and wanted a “different” name. It’s kind of like dying your hair black freshman year, except my beloved kitty has to bare the scars) and I knit (quite nicely) and dabble in crochet (no need to question my proficiency in crochet….I’m not very good) I am also working on turning our household into being more green and self sufficient, much to my hubby’s chagrin. But he goes along and lets me do what I do, after all, I have the attention span of a knat at times, and I’m sure he’s banking on that being the case with this as well. Poor disillusioned soul. But, to be fair, I have lived 30+ years of my life NOT being so green and self sustaining, so I’m not about to judge anyone living “normal”. My whole family does it, when I visit them back east (I was transplanted to the south several years ago) we live more “normal” than the green-crunchiness that I aim for at home and I really don’t mind (too much). I am an avid bibliophile, and I strongly believe that the best thing we can arm ourselves with is an arsenal of knowledge. This sometimes mean stepping out of our safety zones and considering all sides for what they truly are, but this is something that I rather enjoy. I have found myself boucing around all sides of an issue (from politics to laundry detergent) until I finally feel that I know each side, down to it’s very core, and then I feel that I am able to make a truly sound decision. Aside from this I am surprisingly a very spur of the moment kind of person and would just as rather go on a last minute road trip or unplanned picnic instead of sticking to the monotony that is the life of a SAHM (“stay at home mom” in case you were wondering…I always hate having to Google those internet jargon acronyms.). what else is there about me…hmm, idk (i think we all know that one-ha) in my previous life I have worked in many positions, I’ll start with the farthest back- newspaper delivery (I was 9), Hostess at a Bob Evans through highschool, a short two month stint at mcdonalds, Phone girl at a Domino’s Pizza, Preschool teacher (my favorite age was the two year olds) for 7 years, then I was a professional student a couple years (don’t worry, I was working and going through school much of the other years as well), two weeks of that I tried working at Bath and Body Works–we’ll just say retail wasn’t my thing, then I worked for a temp agency and my first “gig” hired me on full time (because of my awesomeness) and since it was a position in Human Resources (my area of study in school) I thought I would beat the system and just go straight into the field. hahaha….ahh, youth. A few life lessons and years later, I went to work front desk and billing at a dialysis clinic, and I haven’t held a “professional” job since. I tried two weeks working at a Target, I quickly learned that going backwards to a retail position was NOT something I could handle. But the people there were lovely. Well goodness, there you go, give me a blog and I will chat your ear off apparently. Enough about the “me” of things, what this blog is for is to basically chronicle and share the things that I do, learn and/or love and hope that it helps someone else out. That’s it. Carry on with your life in general now, and thank you for stopping by!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn@HealthyBalancedFuture.com
    Oct 26, 2012 @ 11:40:46

    And now you have your first comment! Congratulations and welcome! And I believe you will find that most of us led “normal” lives before deciding to go more natural. As we raise our awareness about what compromises we are making by creating waste, using toxic products and not being educated about our foods, it’s easier to switch to the compromises of time and energy we make when learning to be more sustainable. Good luck on your journey. Take it one day at a time! I look forward to seeing what you are up to!

    Reply

    • Meeko
      Oct 27, 2012 @ 17:41:19

      Thank you so much for the warm welcome! I think the arrival of my daughter is what set me on the path of “what’s in this” so I’ve only been at it for a few months (she’s 9 months old) but wow, the amazing information that’s out there! It’s a bit daunting and not something you can remember all of the rules of over night, but the commitment to it is there, so I’m just excited to be able to “unlearn” everything. It’s tricky, as a new mom you already have everyone feeling the need to “advise” you on what you’re doing right (or wrong!) and when you are doing something so off the beaten path it’s like you get it double! It isn’t something understood by most, but I’m hopeful that one day soon more people will take the time to be concerned. I think that is what the processing manufacturers bank on though, is that people just accept “the normal” and not question anything. But knowledge is power, right? šŸ™‚ Thanks again for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Holistic Solutions

Holistic Solutions - All Natural - Made in USA in an FDA approved facility and under strict GMP standards. Pure ingredients with no binders or fillers.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

cosymakes

knit. spin. dye. design. teach.

Our Magical Chaos

Life Lessons from Raising Three Amazing Kids

about ss

scott sappenfield

Kialtho Does Blogging

Knitting, Books and maybe a little adventure

Healthy Balanced Future

Better living through nature

The Bliss Project

Trying new things, living out loud and being amazing!

Deconstruction Crafts

Unpacking what's so to see what's possible

From The Four Winds

organic living, photography, spiritual wellness & more

Natural News Tracker

World Health News Headquarters

stoneFOXfeather

live. love. create.

Ready or Not, Flo Hits the Road

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly of 2 months on 2 wheels across America

tamarasha.fitness

Calm Spirit within Hardcore Form

