You made Avocado….WHAT?!?!

So last weekend i bought a giant bunch of beautiful beets at the farmers market. i came home, admired them, then i realized i had NEVER made anything EVER using beets. I was beside myself. I know that my parents used to make pickled beets, and picked eggs, and just plain boiled beets, but none of these options appealed to me. Finally last night I remembered that a friend of mine raved about her beet curry, and how even her kiddos loved it. I figured it was worth a shot. Let me just say this is not a recipe for those who like an easy in and out sort of recipe (like me!) between the peeling, grating, peeling (onions this time) and chopping (tomatoes) and the dirty dishes and beet juice that just seemed to get all over everything, I was in the kitchen all night. Anyway, the point of sharing this is that I got the genius idea to reserve some of that lovely beet purply-red color and I will be using it to naturally dye some Easter eggs! Once I find out more info, I may even save it for food coloring throughout the year. I’m curious if freezing would be a good method of preserving it, as I don’t do much food coloring normally. I know that I will use some for Easter eggs, some I will use as a natural dye for babies homemade finger paint, but I’m sure I will have some left over even after that. Hopefully I can update you soon on this endeavor.

Anyway, the purpose of today’s blog is to share with you a new yummy recipe that I found on Pinterest and have been hesitant to try. Avocado Brownies. This is not a new concept, I have seen avocado sweet potato brownie recipes several times and various versions of avocado brownies, but I really liked the “layout” of this one, as it was closely related to a regular brownie recipe and I wouldn’t have to veer that far out of my comfort zone. This is the recipe I found on Pinterest originally, but my modifications were as follows: I wasn’t totally comfortable with a whole cup of sugar, so I used 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup stevia for baking. I also didn’t have avocado oil so I used 2 tbsp. almond oil and 1 tbsp coconut oil. It turned out VERY nicely. I also didn’t use the icing. I just wanted a nice plain brownie that I really felt I could fool people (including myself) with. If I could have done anything different, it would have been to more thoroughly mash the avocado in step 1. I get the occasional speck of green every now and then, which I don’t mind, but it takes away from the illusion, so if you are giving them to particularly persnickety kids or husbands, they may only buy until the first green sighting. Anyway, pictures! You’ll have to forgive me, as we had already dipped in before I thought to take any, and it was dark out, so I didn’t even have good lighting. But alas, I share with you the ooey gooey chocolatey yumminess.:)

20130316-122441.jpg

20130316-122531.jpg
Don’t you just love our zig-zaggy cuts? Lol. Clearly convention was just tossed out the window with this one.
Oh! I almost forgot, these would be GREAT fun for St. Patrick’s day! And the green chunks would probably even be acceptable by the family. :)
Have a good weekend!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MommyCafeAmy
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 22:39:58

    I can’t wait to try these!!! They look so so so good!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Dead Writers Society

A blog about books written by (mostly) dead writers

Holistic Solutions

Holistic Solutions - All Natural - Made in USA in an FDA approved facility and under strict GMP standards. Pure ingredients with no binders or fillers.

Need Help Losing Weight?

This Blog Will Guide You Through What Foods to Eat and How to make a Diet Last.

Elena Selivan

"Health is a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity"

cosymakes

knit. spin. dye. design. teach.

Our Magical Chaos

Life Lessons from Raising a Kindergartener and Homeschooling Twindependent Toddlers

about ss

scott sappenfield

A Magical Childhood

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Diary of a Fat Ass Girl

Rambling from a fat ass gal with a zest for life!

Kialtho Does Blogging

Knitting, Books and maybe a little adventure

Healthy Balanced Future

Better living through nature

The Bliss Project

Trying new things, living out loud and being amazing!

Deconstruction Crafts

Unpacking what's so to see what's possible

From The Four Winds

organic living, photography, spiritual wellness & more

Natural News Tracker

Destroy the Myths and Reveal the Truth for Health Enthusiasts!

sincerely, Whitney

live. love. create.

Ready or Not, Flo Hits the Road

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly of 2 months on 2 wheels across America

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

